Jelly
Agar-agar is one of the vegetable gelling agents. Made from certain types of red algae, the food additive is traditionally used in Asian cuisine. In Germany, it is mainly vegans and vegetarians who use it to replace the unwanted gelatine. In China and Japan, agar-agar has been used for food preparation since the 17th century. In Europe it has been a gelatine substitute since the 19th century.
Things to know about agar-agar
Agar-agar is a gelling and binding agent that is often used to prepare Asian dishes. Gelidium, Rhodophyceae and other red algae species are used. The gelling agent is usually used when gelatine is to be replaced (vegans, vegetarians).
Agar-agar is 6 times more potent than gelatin, so it should be used sparingly. The agar, known as food additive E 406, is made from the cell walls of previously boiled and ground saltwater algae . They are up to 25 cm long and harvested from the seabed off the coast of Mexico, California and the Indian Ocean from May to September.
Agar-agar has a different consistency than gelatin because it doesn’t show a sharp edge when cut. The algae gel is also slightly milky. Agar-agar becomes firmer from 35 °C and gels independently of other additives. As a purely natural product, it contains no other additives and is unbleached.
When it is boiled, it smells and tastes slightly salty – an aroma that later disappears. Therefore, the user can even use agar-agar for desserts. As a pharmaceutical excipient, it occurs as a binder in tablets. In microbiology, it is used as a carrier substance for creating fungal and bacterial cultures .
importance to health
Since agar-agar, like other dietary fibers, is indigestible, it can have a laxative effect in high doses. Iodine and potassium in particular are medically effective . It swells in the intestines and thereby stimulates intestinal movement. In addition, the gelling agent has a satiating effect due to its high swelling capacity.
In traditional Indonesian medicine, it is also used to treat diabetes mellitus and heart disease , as it reduces blood sugar levels and thus also has an influence on the complications of diabetes.
If you want to strengthen your weakened body, you should take 1 tablespoon of agar-agar with plenty of hot water or hot tea/coffee in the morning. Three more intakes are made between meals. Patients for whom the traditional fasting cure does not bring the desired success take 1 tablespoon of the algae remedy in a hot drink 5 times a day for several days.
Ingredients & nutritional values
Agar-agar contains the polysaccharides of various algae. They consist of 70% agarose and 30% sulfated agaropectin. 100g agar – agar has 0.1g fat 7g carbohydrate 0.5g protein 0.3g sugar 0g cholesterol 9mg sodium 226mg potassium 54mg calcium 1.9mg iron 67 mg magnesium , 0.5 g fiber and 26 kcal.
intolerances
The well-known gelling agent agar-agar is well suited for people with fructose intolerance. Since it contains no fructose, you can use it without hesitation. In addition, it is gluten-free and can therefore also be used by celiac disease patients. The product is lactose-free.
Shopping and kitchen tips
Agar-agar is available in health food stores, health food stores, well-stocked supermarkets and in Asian grocery stores. Pure agar is also available in pharmacies. The binder can be purchased in the form of powder, flakes, but also sticks and strips.
It is equally suitable for sweet and savory-spicy dishes, is mixed with the appropriate amount of liquid and brought to the boil while stirring constantly. After 2 minutes it can be removed from the stove and allowed to cool. Since the individual products differ, it is best for the user to follow the manufacturer’s dosage recommendations.
If the gel is too firm for him, it is simply diluted with additional liquid. If it is too watery, additional powder is stirred in. Agar-agar is not suitable for desserts that are prepared cold. Cool and dry locations are suitable for storing the gelling agent.
Preparation tips
Agar-agar can replace gelatine in almost all dishes. It is more suitable for individual sweetening than pectin, as it also gels without sugar. Desserts prepared with it can be sweetened according to one’s own taste. As a binding agent in sauces, it replaces potato starch or mondamine.
Fruits that are difficult to gel with gelatine, such as papaya, pineapple and kiwi, always work well with agar-agar. Vegans can substitute 1 tsp agar-agar for adding 1 egg when cooking. In contrast to gelatine, the Asian binding agent can even be boiled several times. Acid and fat reduce the gelling ability of agar-agar, while fruits with a high pectin content increase it.
Hello and welcome to my Health Guide & Encyclopedia! My name is Dorothy Farrar, and I'm the founder and main author of this platform.
My passion for health and wellness started at a young age when I became interested in the connection between the food we eat and the way we feel. This fascination led me to study nutrition and dietetics in college, where I learned about the importance of a balanced diet and the impact of various nutrients on the body.